Gibraltar general election on 8 December

There is to be a general election in Gibraltar on Thursday December 8. Governor, acting on the advice of the Chief Minister, yesterday issued a proclamation (not sent to the Press) dissolving Parliament and convening a general election.

Elections are held every 4 years. The last general election was in 2007 when the Gibraltar Social Democrats led by Peter Caruana won with 49 per cent of the votes. The Gibraltar Socialist Labour Party in an alliance with the Gibraltar Liberal Party secured 45 per cent of the votes.

The GSD obtained 10 seats in the 17-seat parliament, with the GSLP/Liberals obtaining the remaining seven seats. Caruana was chief minister and Joe Bossano became leader of the opposition.

Three parties say they will be contesting the December election, the GSD, the GSLP Liberals and the Progressive Democratic Party. Recent opinion polls suggest that the GSLP Liberals will win the election.