Gibraltar at Cardiff conference

A delegation from the Gibraltar Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association are attending the 44th Regional Conference of the British Islands and Mediterranean Region being held in Cardiff, Wales from 27-30 May.

The Gibraltar Branch will be represented by Miss S J Sacramento MP, Minister for Equality and Social Services and Leader of the delegation; S E Linares MP, Minister for Sports, Culture, Heritage and Youth and Opposition Members J J Netto MP and E J Reyes MP. The Honorary Secretary of the Branch, Mr P E Martinez, will accompanies the delegation.

The Conference theme is: “Equality of Access to Democracy”, which will incorporate several strands to include:

• Gender and the Promotion of Women in Parliament and Public Life;

• Bilingualism and the role of official languages in parliament;

• Youth Parliaments and engagement of young citizens in the democratic process.

The Conference takes the form of a series of plenary sessions addressed by invited speakers on selected relevant topics followed by workshops in which delegates are invited to contribute and discuss.

Ceremonial Guard Mount

There will be a Ceremonial Guard Mount outside the Convent by the Royal Gibraltar Regiment this Saturday at 1200 noon. All members of the public are very welcome to attend.

Citizenship ceremony

A Citizenship Ceremony, organised by the Civil Status and Registration Office on behalf of the Governor, will take place at 3.30pm on Tuesday 3rd June in the Banqueting Hall of the Convent.

Sir James Dutton will receive the oath of allegiance to Her Majesty The Queen and a pledge of loyalty from six new British citizens, and present them with their certificates of nationality.

GHITA board and committee

The Gibraltar Hearing Impaired and Tinnitus Association's executive after the implementation of its new constitution that was accepted in their last AGM dated 22 april 2014.

The GHITA board of Trustees are as follows: Edgar Triay, Maria Antonia Gomez, Katie Vasquez, Jackie Dalli and Tyrone Payas.

The new appointed committee are as follows: Anselmo Torres (Chairperson), Shayla Lopez, Evan Wahnon, Ramon Vasquez, Marie Wallace, Khezia Garcia and Gill McManus.